About CCC

A Crown corporation of the Government of Canada, the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC) acts as Canada’s international contracting and procurement agency. CCC reports to Parliament through the Minister of International Trade under Schedule III Part I of the Financial Administration Act. 

The Corporation was established in 1946 to assist in the postwar reconstruction of Europe, with a mandate “to assist in the development of trade between Canada and other nations and to assist persons in Canada to obtain goods or commodities from outside Canada, and to dispose of goods and commodities that are available for export from Canada."

In 1956, the Defence Production Sharing Agreement gave the Corporation additional responsibility as the gateway between the U.S. Department of Defense and Canadian suppliers, a relationship that was soon expanded to include NASA. Since 1978, CCC has operated within the International Trade portfolio of the Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) along with Export Development Canada.

Our role in Canada’s international portfolio

CCC connects government buyers with Canadian expertise through the negotiation and execution of government-to-government contracts. Our strong relationships with international buyers and our access to Canada’s innovative industrial base puts us in a unique position to facilitate and promote international trade.

The Corporation focuses on areas where there is a clear role for government, operating in sectors outside of World Trade Organization agreements, such as aerospace and defence. We also focus on emerging and developing markets, where governments of other countries may require additional capacity to undertake complex and timely procurements and projects.

CCC can operate either as Prime Contractor selling to governments, or as a Procurement Agent sourcing Canadian goods and services on behalf of governments in other countries. The Corporation also procures equipment, supplies and expertise to help the Government of Canada fulfill its in-kind aid contributions worldwide.

Au sujet de la CCC

La Corporation commerciale canadienne (CCC) est une société d’État qui agit en tant qu’agence de passation de contrats et d’approvisionnements internationaux du Canada. Elle rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre du Commerce international, conformément à la partie I de l’annexe III de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

La CCC a été établie en 1946 pour faciliter la reconstruction de l’Europe dans le contexte d’après-guerre, avec pour mandat d’aider « à l’expansion du commerce extérieur du Canada; de fournir une assistance aux personnes intéressées, au Canada : soit à obtenir des marchandises et denrées de pays étrangers, soit à trouver des débouchés pour les marchandises et denrées qui peuvent être exportées du Canada ».

En 1956, l’Accord sur le partage de la production de défense a conféré à la Corporation la responsabilité additionnelle de jouer le rôle d’intermédiaire entre le département de la Défense des États-Unis et les fournisseurs canadiens, une responsabilité qui s’est vite étendue pour inclure la NASA.

Depuis 1978, les activités de la CCC relèvent du portefeuille du commerce international du ministère des Affaires Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement (MAECD), tout comme celles d’Exportation et développement Canada.

Le rôle de la CCC dans le portefeuille international du Canada

La CCC fait le lien entre les acheteurs gouvernementaux et le savoir-faire canadien en négociant et en exécutant des contrats de gouvernement à gouvernement. Ses relations solides avec les acheteurs gouvernementaux et son accès à l’infrastructure industrielle innovatrice du Canada la placent dans une position unique pour faciliter et promouvoir le commerce international.

La Corporation met l’accent sur les domaines où le gouvernement peut jouer un rôle clair et exerce ses activités dans des secteurs exclus des accords de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, comme l’aérospatiale et la défense. Elle met également l’accent sur les marchés émergents et en développement où elle répond aux besoins de gouvernements d’autres pays de capacités additionnelles pour entreprendre des approvisionnements et des projets complexes dans de courts délais.

La CCC peut agir ou bien comme maître d’œuvre, en vendant à des gouvernements, ou bien comme agente d’approvisionnement, en localisant des sources d’approvisionnement en biens et services canadiens pour le compte de gouvernements d’autres pays. La Corporation fournit aussi de l’équipement, du matériel et des services d’experts-conseils pour aider le gouvernement du Canada à respecter ses engagements en matière de contributions d’aide en nature à l’échelle mondiale.